CPI (M) names two candidates for the upcoming 10th Assembly election

IMPHAL, Oct 12 : Setting the ball rolling for the upcoming 10th Assembly election, the CPI (M) has become the first political party to announce the names of its candidates to contest in the said election. 

CPI (M) Central Committee Member and ex-MP Nurul Hooda declared that Kshetrimayum Shanta would contest in Sagolband Assembly Constituency and Yumnam Romola in Keishamthong AC.

Speaking to media persons at the Paona Bazar office of CPI (M) Manipur State Council today, Nurul Hooda said that CPI (M) would go together with other like minded Left parties in the forthcoming elections with a vision to form an alternative Governments in Manipur as well as at the Centre after toppling the Congress-led Governments.

Saying that the incumbent State Government is no longer supported by the people, Nurul Hooda slammed the State Government’s complete silence to the 70 days old highway blockade which has resulted in untold misery to the general public.

The plight of the people of Manipur are consequences of the Central and State Government’s misplaced policies, he alleged.

Observing that the law and order situation in the State has been deteriorating day by day, Nurul Hooda flayed the Government’s reluctance to take any concrete initiative to bring major rebel groups of Manipur to the negotiating table.

It would be in the best interest of all if the Centre and the State Government take some concrete steps to bring the major insurgent groups to the negotiating   table, he added.

The CPI with four MLAs in the current Assembly is a partner in the SPF Government along with the Congress party, while the CPI (M) drew blank in the election to the 9th Assembly held in 2007.

Source: The Sangai Express


One comment on “CPI (M) names two candidates for the upcoming 10th Assembly election

  1. Pingback: Daily News Digest – The Sangai Express – 13 October 2011 | KokSum : Mobile Friendly Manipur News Aggregator

Comments are closed.