Assembly election-2012: Call Centre and 11 Control Rooms activated

 Imphal, October 13: As per the instructions of the Election Commission of India, a Call Centre and 11 Control rooms at the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur and the offices of District Election Officers of nine districts and Addl Deputy Commissioner of Kangpokpi and Jiribam respectively have been activated today to take care of public grievances.

Speaking to media persons, PC Lawnkunga, Chief electoral Officer, Addl Chief Secretary (Election) said that the Call centre has been made functional throughout the state through BSNL. If any individual desires to complain on any election related issues, they can call up in the toll free number 1950/18003453852.

He further went on to say that steps are being taken up to make the Call Centre functional through other service providers such as Aircell, Airtell, Reliance, Vodaphone, Idea, Tata Indicom etc. the Call Centres and the Control Rooms will be initially functional during office hours (10am to 4:30pm) on all working days and subsequently it will be functional 24X7.

The Call Centre can be utilized by the people to make any election related complaints pertaining to the state or raise a query on any electoral malpractices during the election, complaints or suggestions regarding the functioning of the office of the District Election Officers, Electoral Registration Offices, Booth level Officers. The office will not process requests related to the elections to Urban and Rural Local Bodies and Panchayati Raj institutions, he said.

For a smooth conduct of the forthcoming general election, the Chief electoral Officer, Addl Chief Secretary (Election) has requested the Chief Election Commission of India to provide 466 companies of Para military forces. The increase in demand for the number of Para military companies in the state for the upcoming election to the 10th Manipur State Legislative Assembly, is mainly because of the fact that the number of polling stations have been increased to 2357 as against 2195 in the last general election, he added.

Instructions have also been given to the election officers to identify the number of hyper sensitive, sensitive and normal polling stations among the 2357 polling stations. Further instruction has also been given to the DCs and SPs of all districts to identify the number license guns issued, he said.

He further went on to say that as a part of security arrangements 1098 civil police personnel in Imphal East, 2578 civil police personnel in Imphal West, 713 civil police personnel in Bishnupur, 835 civil police personnel in Chandel, 370 civil police personnel in Ukhrul, 330 civil police personnel in Senapati, 320 civil police personnel in Tamenglong and 488 civil police personnel in Churachandpur district will be deployed.

Apart from the 3,000 EVM machines installed for the election, an additional 500 EVM machines, which is to be kept as spares, will also be procured. The number of female electors exceeds the number of male electors in the state according to the 2009 electoral roll. The election slips, a slip of paper with the serial number of the voter on the electoral roll, given by the candidates will not be entertained in the coming election, only the slips given by the Election Commission can be used.

Source: Hueiyen Lanpao


One comment on “Assembly election-2012: Call Centre and 11 Control Rooms activated

  1. Pingback: Daily News Digest – Hueiyen Lanpao – 14 October 2011 | KokSum : Mobile Friendly Manipur News Aggregator

Comments are closed.